The Continuing Saga of the Sheep

So I honest-to-God forgot about the ram’s horn I had in my checked luggage when I filled out my custom’s declaration. In any case, when I got home and pulled it out of my suitcase, my dad’s first reactions was, “ooh can I make a shofar out of that?” So of course since I had no idea what I wanted to do with it, I handed it over and before I knew it he had found DIY shofar instructions on the web. Next thing I know the house smells like dead animal (again?!) and he’s boiling the horn to get the cartilege out. Then it has to dry for a while and then you cut off the end so you get a hole the whole way through. It’s kind of a small shofar and doesn’t work so well…but he got a squeaky tkiyah out of it last night. Now we can have our very own Rosh Hashanah services with our very own homemade shofar.

One thought on “The Continuing Saga of the Sheep

Leave a Reply

