How to Get a Visa

“What do you need?”
“I need a visa extension.”
“Do you have the form?”
“Yes.”
“Where are you staying?”
“With a friend.”
“They are Israeli?”
“Yes.”
“Do you have a letter?”
“No.”
[Hands me a sheet of printer paper and a pen.] “Write a letter.”
“…”
“Say you will not work or get money while you are here. Say how long you will be here and what you will do and how you will support yourself.”
Here is what I wrote:
I will not work or get money while in Israel.
I have a return ticket on January 15, 2011.
I want to take Ulpan and travel.
I have savings and can receive money from my parents.
“It is 165. I gave you until October, so three months from when you entered the country.”
“Thank you.”

Easy. As. Pie. And I didn’t even have to say I was Jewish.

Leave a Reply

