Bomb, continued.

“Inside information”, common sense, and pseudo-adept political analysis leads me to believe that there will, in fact, not be a war at the moment. Certainly not with Lebanon. But I hear the planes overhead and the bombs exploding and it’s weird. I’m trying to edit an article for a publication but I’m struck by the very irony – hilarity? – of the situation. I knew already that from the vantage point of Mount Carmel, the top of the hill in Haifa, you can see Lebanon. But it never seemed so close until I heard the bombs falling there. A friend offered (as a joke) to share their shelter, just in case. I’m going to have to practice my sprinting.

Not scared, just anxious, a little excited. I don’t think there will be a war. Everyone is used to it anyway – honestly, there is no other place I’d rather be in the event of a war. I don’t think the US could take it. But here, it’s a part of life. It’s just bizarre and a little unnerving that it’s so close. Israeli and Lebanese soldiers at a stand-off along the border is usually an image reserved for the international section (page A14 or some such nonsense) of the NY Times. But here, it’s something like a half hour’s drive north. Strange.

2 thoughts on “Bomb, continued.

Leave a Reply

