LSACscam addendum

Realizing I should further educate myself as to the logistics of applying to law school (since we all know this was pretty last-minute), further research on the LSAC website has led to the revelation that, in addition to the bull**** CAS and application fees, LSAC charges $16 for each school they send your custom-assembled credentials to.

It costs more money to have these hooligans assemble my credentials than, had I done it myself, my time would have been worth. From a purely my-wallet standpoint, the value of my time saved is less than what they value their service at. That is to say, if my time is worth $20/hour, and I’m going to be shelling out $200 to these fools, it would have to be for a job that would take me more than ten hours to complete to make it worth me paying them to do it. Somehow, I don’t think it would take me ten hours to electronically submit a collection of PDFs to, say, six different schools.

I’m sure my economics and logic are both faulty here, and we can throw in that I am (irrelevantly) terrible at statistics, but I don’t like this. I stand by my position that this is a cartel and a scam and they are preying on the weak and easily-coerced. Or perhaps everyone’s time is just worth more than mine and I should develop higher self-worth.

3 thoughts on “LSACscam addendum

  1. Shirley you grasp that they don’t want you to cheat flamboyantly. Let us take a simple example. One may wonder what the legal status of the Jewish state is, this “Jewish and democratic state”. What is the judgment of US legal scholarship on that question?

  2. I think that you are forgetting that (Law) Schools/institutions of higher ed generally are out to make money off of you and they don’t want to waste their time (read: paying additional staff salaries) to chase down folks who submitted incomplete/incorrect applications. This makes their lives/budgets better, not yours.

Leave a Reply

